Since 2000, the nine affiliated county community foundations that make up the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa have provided grants and scholarships totaling over $7,063,000.

The Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa are comprised of nine county community foundations: Audubon, Cass, Crawford, Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Montgomery, Page and Shelby. These nine community foundations are all affiliates of the Omaha Community Foundation. In addition, Montgomery County Community Foundation works in partnership with the Red Oak Heritage Foundation and the Page County Community Foundation partners with the Clarinda Foundation and the Greater Shenandoah Foundation.

Each Community Foundation’s mission is to participate in funding community charitable projects and nonprofit organizations that have similar objectives. The goal of each Community Foundations’ grant program is to improve the quality of life in the county by supporting needs that are not being met in the areas of civic, cultural, health, education, and social service. The objective is to fund projects with a permanent impact for the county that people can take advantage of for many years.

Here at the Omaha Community Foundation, we are honored to work closely with the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa and are proud of all the great work they are doing for Iowa.